My Ugly Clementine nominated for the Music Moves Europe Talent Awards 2021

vote for my ugly clementine

The Reeperbahn Festival in Hamburg was the designated location for a thrilling announcement this Friday evening: the nominees for the Music Moves Europe Talent Awards 2021 have been announced at the “Nominees Night” in the presence of the European Commissioner for Culture, Mariya Gabriel. Together with 15 outstanding artists from all over Europe, the Austrian indie rock band My Ugly Clementine was nominated for a MMETA 2021.

My Ugly Clementine is the brainchild of Sophie Lindinger, who already won awards and international attention with her band Leyya. For her new project, the songwriter and producer gathered people that she always wanted to work and to play with. The group now features Mira Lu Kovacs (5K HD), Kathrin Kolleritsch (Kerosin95), and Nastasja Ronck. Their post-punk approach is one of blending pop catchiness, mischievous guitar interplays and cheerful hooks, creating a remarkably fresh and elegant strain of indie rock.

The European sound of today and tomorrow

The Music Moves Europe Talent Awards are designed to accelerate the international careers of upcoming European artists and function as a catalyst for the establishment of an artist internationally. The annual EU prize for popular and contemporary music co-funded by the Creative Europe programme celebrates emerging artists who represent the European sound of today and tomorrow.

A total of sixteen outstanding artists are nominated for the Music Moves Europe Talent Awards 2021. The nominees are: Alyona Alyona (ua), Bratři (cz), Calby (dk), Crystal Murray (fr), Inhaler (ie), Julia Bardo (it), Lina_ Raül Refree (pt), Lous and The Yakuza (be), Melenas (es), Mero (de), My Ugly Clementine (at), Nea (se), Rimon (nl), Sassy 009 (no), Squid (uk), Vildá (fi)

music moves europe logo

Public Choice meets Expert Jury 

All sixteen MMETA nominees will be rewarded with promotion support and a performance at ESNS 2021. The MMETA jury will select eight winners that will be revealed at the awards ceremony on the 15th of January during ESNS 2021 in Groningen, NL. Each of the winners will receive a prize worth of € 10.000,- to be spent towards promoting their international careers.

To diversify the selection process and to mobilize an extra cash prize of € 5.000, a public choice voting is starting today, Friday September 18. An international audience is able to vote for their favorite artist via the official Music Moves Europe Awards website.

Music Moves Europe

Music is one of the most popular forms of art, widely consumed, and a vibrant expression of Europe’s cultural diversity. Music Moves Europe, the overarching framework for the European Commission’s initiatives and actions in support of the European music sector aims to help the music sector flourish. In line with this approach, the Music Moves Europe Talent Awards, co-funded by the Creative Europe programme, the EU funding programme for the culture and audiovisual sector, wants to contribute to the creativity, diversity and competitiveness of the music sector in Europe.

Organising coalition

The Music Moves Europe Talent Awards are organized by ESNS and Reeperbahn Festival in partnership with Yourope, Independent Music Companies Association (IMPALA), International Music Managers Forum (IMMF), Liveurope, Live DMA, European Music Exporters Exchange (EMEE), Digital Music Europe (DME) and media partner European Broadcasting Union (EBU), with support from the Dutch Ministry of Education, Culture and Science, Province of Groningen and the City of Groningen. The awards are implemented in close cooperation with the European Commission and financially supported by Creative Europe.

logo mmeta
My Ugly Clementine
Vote for My Ugly Clementine
Eurosonic Noorderslag
Reeperbahn Festival